5 Primary Health Organisations You Should Know About

As we enter into a new year, it’s a good time to get familiar with some of the primary health organisations (PHOs) that you may need in order to stay healthy. PHOs are organizations that provide health care services to individuals and families who can’t afford it on their own. In addition to providing essential health care, PHOs can also help you stay informed about health issues and make healthy choices. Below are five primary health organisations you should know about. Read on to learn more about each one and how you can get involved.


The NHS is a healthcare system in the United Kingdom. It is the largest and most comprehensive health care system in the world, providing free or subsidised medical care to all British citizens and permanent residents who need it.

The NHS was founded in 1948, after World War II ended. At its inception, it covered just over one million people. Today, it covers more than 85 million people, making it the world’s largest single provider of healthcare.

The NHS is divided into four main parts: general practice ( GP ), acute hospitals ( A&E ), community services ( NHS Direct ), and children’s services ( NSPCC ). Each part has its own management structure and staff.

The NHS is funded by a combination of taxpayer money and fees charged to patients. The government sets overall national spending levels, but each part of the NHS has its own budget. In 2013/14, the total budget for the NHS was £115 billion (£10,000 per person). This amount will gradually increase over time as the NHS prepares for an aging population and increasing costs associated with new technologies and treatments.

Despite its size, the NHS still faces challenges. For example, there are not enough GPs . This problem is caused by a number of factors, including rising retirement age , changing patterns of work , and shortages of trained doctors . In addition, the cost of medical treatments continues to rise faster than inflation . This means that many people are finding it harder to afford necessary care


1. Medicare is a national health insurance program in the United States that provides health care for people age 65 or older and for certain people with disabilities. People who are not covered by Medicare can still receive Medicaid or SCHIP (state child health insurance programs).

2. The program is funded by general tax revenues and premiums from beneficiaries. In 2013, Medicare provided coverage for about 54 million people, including about 39 million people who were age 65 or older and about 17 million people who were physically or mentally disabled.

3. Medicare has several important features that make it unique among national health insurance programs. First, it is mandatory for all adults, regardless of wealth or income level, to enroll in the program if they are able to do so. Second, Medicare provides comprehensive coverage for medical expenses, including hospital stays, doctor visits, prescription drugs, and medical equipment.

4. Third, Medicare pays most doctors who treat patients under its jurisdiction fairly and at least as much as private insurers pay their doctors. Fourth, Medicare also pays some out-of-pocket costs that are not covered by most other insurance programs, such as deductibles and copayments. Fifth, Medicare allows beneficiaries to use their spending limits to purchase additional coverage beyond what is offered through the program itself.


1. Medicaid is a federal and state health insurance program that provides medical coverage to low-income individuals and families.
2. Medicaid is funded by the federal government and administered by the states.
3. As of 2019, 38 states have expanded Medicaid under the Affordable Care Act (ACA).
4. Qualifying for Medicaid typically requires meeting certain income guidelines, being a resident in a qualifying state, and having a valid social security number or qualifying disability status.
5. In most cases, people who are eligible for Medicaid receive coverage from either the state or federal government, depending on their location.
6. There are several different types of Medicaid programs available in each state, including: traditional Medicaid, which covers only basic health care needs; CHIP (Children’s Health Insurance Program), which offers healthcare coverage to families whose incomes are at or below 138% of the poverty level; and SHIP (State Health Insurance Plan), which provides coverage to people with lower incomes who do not meet the eligibility requirements for traditional Medicaid or CHIP.
7. One of the best ways to learn more about Medicaid is to contact your state’s department of health or Medicaid office directly. They can provide you with information about specific eligibility requirements and how to apply for benefits.

The American Red Cross

The American Red Cross is a nonprofit humanitarian and relief organisation that provides emergency response services, blood, blood products and other health resources. It was founded in 1881 and has more than 1.3 million volunteers and employees working in nearly 90 countries worldwide. The American Red Cross operates the National Blood Service, which provides blood products to hospitals nationwide.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button